“4:30 a.m.” by Charles Bukowski and a translation to Portuguese by the poet and actor Luís Beirão

Luís Beirão is a poet, writer, actor and performer who gave us a brilliant version of Bukowski’s magnificent poem. The visual interpretation is also his choice:

“4:30 a.m”

gato-bebedolas

(image caught from the web, author unknown)

the fields rattle
with red birds;
it is 4:30 in
the morning,
it is always
4:30 in the morning,
and I listen for
my friends:
the garbagemen
and the thieves,

and cats dreaming
red birds
and red birds dreaming
worms,
and worms dreaming
along the bones
of my love,
and I cannot sleep
and soon morning will come,
the workers will rise,

and they will look for me
at the docks,
and they will say,
“he is drunk again,”
but I will be asleep,
finally,
among the bottles and
sunlight,
all darkness gone,
my arms spread like
a cross,
the red birds
flying,
flying,

roses opening in the smoke,
and
like something stabbed and healing,
like
40 pages through a bad novel,
a smile upon
my idiot’s face

 

Charles Bukowski
And now, Luís Beirão’s translation:
 beirao
Luís Beirão, photographed by Ana Almeida Santos

QUATRO E MEIA DA MANHÃ

Os barulhos do mundo
com passarinhos vermelhos
são quatro e meia da
manhã
são sempre
quatro e meia da manhã
e eu escuto
os meus amigos:
os lixeiros
e os ladrões
e os gatos a sonhar com
minhocas,
e as minhocas a sonharem
os ossos
do meu amor,
e eu não posso dormir
e em breve vai amanhecer,
os trabalhadores vão levantar-se
vão procurar por mim no estaleiro
e dirão:
ele está bêbado novamente,
mas eu estarei adormecido,
finalmente, no meio das garrafas e
da luz do sol,
toda a escuridão acabada,
os braços abertos como
uma cruz,
os passarinhos vermelhos
voando,
voando,
rosas a abrirem-se no fumo
e
como algo esfaqueado e a cicatrizar,
como 40 páginas de um mau romance,
um sorriso estampado
na minha cara de idiota.

Charles Bukowski (traduzido livremente do inglês)

Leave a Reply

